ADVERTISEMENT

$50 to cover a game?

Razzamatazz

Apr 8, 2021
What is this all about? Charging a newspaper man to cover a local HS football game…CHASE @ Owen?

per Jacob Conley’s twit feed…Jacob writes for The Daily Courier:

“I was all set to cover @CTrojanFootball On Friday but Owen wants to charge me $50 to do so. I was therefore forced to choose another assignment. I've been covering prep sports for 15 years and this is the 1st time Anybody wanted to charge me To cover a game”

I know the MAC schools charge a $50 fee to broadcast basketball. I've never heard of a newspaper writer being charged anywhere. Are we sure they didn't misunderstand this wasn't a broadcast/webcast?

We used to be charged to broadcast at certain schools during the regular season $100. It’s only required by NCHSAA during the postseason and at the time that was only $50, now it’s $100. Apparently those certain schools thought out little old broadcast would hurt their gate. Crazy.

Does the daily courier charge a fee to read their articles online? Is so pay up.

Does the daily courier charge a fee to read their articles online? Is so pay up.
Yeah and they also charge a fee for reading their printed newspapers. What’s the difference? So we’re going to start charging newspaper journalists a fee for covering HS football game if that newspaper has an online service? That makes no sense. Probably more to this story.

Yeah and they also charge a fee for reading their printed newspapers. What’s the difference? So we’re going to start charging newspaper journalists a fee for covering HS football game if that newspaper has an online service? That makes no sense. Probably more to this story.
Well if every web site you went too wanted a subscription it would be more obvious to you what I'm talking about.

Well if every web site you went too wanted a subscription it would be more obvious to you what I'm talking about.