ADVERTISEMENT

The loss of quality NC coaches continues

sammyk

Oct 26, 2001
With quality coaches stepping down all over the state what affect will this have moving on. I remember going to the winter clinic and seeing the Ron Greens, Dickie Clines, Bob Paroili, Dee Bell, BW Holts, Tommy Norwood, Bruce Hardin, Bill Eckles, Tommy Knotts, Chris Norman, ect and now as an elder coach I do not see guys like that anymore and the ones that are close are leaving the state/profession in droves. Now you are losing Coach Snow and Coach Newsome What will be the fallout if quality coaches keep leaving.

You named some great ones. I would like to add Bob Lewis, Yogi Hickman, Gary Fowler, Frank Jernigan, to name a few.

You named some great ones. I would like to add Bob Lewis, Yogi Hickman, Gary Fowler, Frank Jernigan, to name a few.
Please do. I am lucky I have coached in several counties and areas in this state and have met some great great coaches.

Reactions: MagisterO
Elections have consequences. Direct byproduct of the NCGA anti public education policies and school districts not wanting to compensate coaches properly.

Reactions: sammyk
I would add it doesn’t help that neighboring state of SC pays teachers and especially coaches much more than they can make in NC. At least in areas of SC.

I would add it doesn’t help that neighboring state of SC pays teachers and especially coaches much more than they can make in NC. At least in areas of SC.

On average teacher pay isn't much better in SC, but it seems coaches pay is. NC also has one of the top economies in the nation. South Carolina is about midpack. NC should be one of the most attractive states to work for in the nation but our NCGA has chosen war against public schools instead.