ADVERTISEMENT

Spring Eligibility Proposal

What is this telling the kids?

What is more important. School or sports?

"It's ok to fail your classes, we will still let you play"

I am a coach and I am facing some issues with players, but I make a point to get to them and make sure they get their work done.

Coach, I am with you on that. Too many systems have devalued the diploma already so many kids just think the system will pass them so they can play sports and graduate. There are some hard cases where kids are disadvantaged, but many are simply just not doing the work, attending classes on campus or online. I have been fussing at mine all semester and if they are ineligible it is on them for not doing what they are supposed to do. Not to mention the parents not pushing the kids or staying on them. It is called parent portal and anyone can sign up for it and monitor grades. I am pretty sure even the very poor kids folks have cell phones. I cannot speak for other systems, but I know the one I am in kids are not attending class or doing the work like they are capable of.

Eligibility should be waved until all schools have the option to reenter at full capacity. Many kids are at such a disadvantage right now that we can't even fathom. Why should they be punished? If they're taking advantage of the system and not doing their work that they have the resources to do, then sure, let's keep them out.

Eligibility should be waved until all schools have the option to reenter at full capacity. Many kids are at such a disadvantage right now that we can't even fathom. Why should they be punished? If they're taking advantage of the system and not doing their work that they have the resources to do, then sure, let's keep them out.