ADVERTISEMENT

Montgomery Central HS (Updated: 5/14: MC needs games)

The first thing I would ask any coach at this point is, “are you going to stay more than two years”.

That last hire sounded good, but it was a bust.
Coach Brown was a transitional coach. With his dad on the staff, you have two of the best in North Carolina history. I’d be amazed if the powers that be were surprised by this retirement. But merging those two cultures will take several years and they probably need a coach that can weather some tough years before reaching success.
I’m no expert on Montgomery County. But I know the Browns. They helped keep it together when the school had two campuses and two cultures. And then a pandemic. Now someone else needs to create one school and one team from cross county rivals. Not an easy task, but one that can be very rewarding to the right coach.

Reactions: Griddie and RD28327
Coach Brown was a transitional coach. With his dad on the staff, you have two of the best in North Carolina history. I’d be amazed if the powers that be were surprised by this retirement. But merging those two cultures will take several years and they probably need a coach that can weather some tough years before reaching success.
I’m no expert on Montgomery County. But I know the Browns. They helped keep it together when the school had two campuses and two cultures. And then a pandemic. Now someone else needs to create one school and one team from cross county rivals. Not an easy task, but one that can be very rewarding to the right coach.