ADVERTISEMENT

Forbush

Statement from Yadkin County Schools:

EN23yzSX0AANNbs

I don't like this move at all.. and the school's reaction in the Journal article was awful honestly. Principal tried to blame Chris for their errors which isn't his fault at all.

Forbush just hasn't had consistent talent before now since when I started playing in 2007, add to it Starmount's run lasting for a while and being put in the WPAC Chris's run never had a chance honestly. He had that 2013 team but they had a hard schedule and over-performed. His 2014 and 16 teams under-performed but again they were in a conference filled with more athletic teams. Put them in MVAC where they should be at now and they'd won 6-7 games every year at least between 2013-2016 and 2018 as well.

To be even more honest without Chris they wouldn't have turned the corner.. the program was a joke when he took over. Mitchell ran them into the ground after 2006 and if we hadn't been in the state we were in in 2009 they wouldn't have won a game his last year. Mitchell exploited that 2004 senior class and had 2 good years but was crap besides that. Johnson was miles better of a HC than he was. He brought stability to their program.

Whoever takes the job is gonna have a nice 2 year stretch where they could be pretty good, but honestly they can under-perform as well. They were close to Chris and played hard for him, a wrong hire could drop them. After 2021 it will probably be back to irrelevance unless they have another good group. As for who wants it I really don't know.. wouldn't be suprised if they go for someone who loves the spread or someone more run based. Chris was always 50/50 on his offenses but he had a nice hybrid set up.