1A should separate from NCHSAA

gangsta8

Dec 12, 2004
I have to agree with you on this but the more research I done on this a couple years ago I come to find out our state legislature are the ones that’s given the NCHSAA hell about keeping these charter schools within the association. Traditional public schools fan bases are much larger than these charter and prep schools which I do think is unfair another basketball season will go by without a traditional public school competing for a state championship. I use to think it was the NCHSAA but yes the legislature argue that it’s unfair to the charter schools for them to be divided up during the postseason. I do agree the lawmakers kids attend these charter schools which limits funding to traditional public schools.

Yosef1381

Sep 3, 2019
Not to sound mean but that idea is not possible. I am a mitchell high grad and have no affiliation to any charter, but if their numbers fall within the 1a designation so be it. You only see charter schools winning in certain sports, and even then they are not dominating at the level you see in other states in some sports with PUBLIC schools with win streaks of 70 or 80 games/matches/meets/etc. It would be petty for a school to even whine about facing charter schools. Kids are going to charter schools because our education system in NC is the worst i've been around in the US. Also because sports have become a political animal which parents and coaches use for personal image. The blame for the downfall in 1a sports is due to us adults, parents, coaches, and administrators.

CatDad312

Aug 8, 2018